lunes, 16 de junio de 2014

Dark Metropolis: los locos años 20 en versión paranormal




Buenos días, arrebatadores :o) La semana pasada leí una novela de lo más original. Se titula Metrópolis oscura (DARK METROPOLIS) y su autora, Jaclyn Dolamoreha creado un entramado complejo que resulta sorprendente y profundo a la vez que ligero de leer.

Es un misterio que se desenvuelve en mil vueltas en una ciudad inmersa en la post-guerra de los años 20. Thea tiene dieciséis años, trabaja en un club nocturno porque su madre sufre una enfermedad desde que su padre murió en la guerra. Estaban unidos por un antiguo ritual mágico que, a la muerte de uno de los cónyuges, produce inestabilidad mental al romperse el vínculo. Cuando Nan, una compañera de trabajo, desaparece sin dejar rastro, Thea investiga con la ayuda de Freddy, un joven de cabello plateado.

De lo más inesperada, la trama está llena de cambios y sorpresas a medida que Thea y Nan sufren peripecias sin parar. Una conspiración terrible tiene dividida a la ciudad, regida con mano dura por el gobierno y desafiada por los revolucionarios. La antigua magia aún pervive en misteriosas leyendas, pero en las entrañas de la ciudad se cuecen experimentos horripilantes.

Me ha gustado muchísimo que haya dos heroínas viviendo esta aventura mágica y terrorífica a la vez. Hay elementos de amnesia que provocan que no sepamos lo que ha ocurrido y por qué hasta que los propios personajes consiguen averiguarlo. Entre todo el misterio y la conspiración, la atmósfera se va oscureciendo debido a los horribles secretos que esconde la ciudad.

Los diálogos son ingeniosos, la narrativa logra enredar la mente en las pérdidas emocionales que sufren tantas personas y, aunque no hay romance apenas, no lo he echado de menos porque la tensión, el misterio y el horror resultan muy interesantes en todo momento. La parte mágica también ha sido muy original, en perfecta sincronización con el complot y las motivaciones de los protagonistas. La novela es una mezcla estupenda de géneros que recomiendo a quien busque un thriller medio mágico, medio terrorífico con un sabor urbano, oscuro y europeo.



Series: Dark Metropolis #1
Release date: June 17th 2014 
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion 
Amazon - Goodreads

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.
Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.
Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.
Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.


MY OPINION OF DARK METROPOLIS 

Magic in the roaring twenties? Count me in!

I was very excited to read this book because of that unique blend of historical period, cabaret atmosphere, magic in a dark city and a danger from the dead in the background. How would all that combine to produce a story of mystery and thrill?

After reading Dark Metropolis, I admit I'm very happy with the result. It was a constant surprise! Both the setting and the plot are keenly original. The writing is fluid whereas the dialogues always come up as witty and funny. I fell in love with the characterisation. The main female characters are willful and sharp-minded. They each represent a key element of the plot. The emotional side is Thea's role because she fights to save her family, and the political side is partly Nan's role because she fights for justice, freedom, and something else that goes beyond the current predicament of the city. That's a clever device as it allows the plot to arise naturally from the characters' plights.

The author manages to convey the post-war atmosphere of the twenties where people were both resigned and revolutionised. Behind the glitter of night clubs, a governmental conspiracy covers up horrible, dark secrets that are poisoning the whole of society. The novel proposes such a captivating plot. I loved the idea of old-times magic that was banned but still bounded people together. The alternating points of view between Thea and Nan added dynamism to the events that constantly deepened the extent of the web of lies and criminal actions brewing undercover.

It was so entertaining to follow in the steps of the two heroines as they discover what's happening to the people who disappear, what's Freedy's role in the magical conspiracy and how to save the innocent while a revolution is hatching, and the villains keep on with their incredibly devious business.

What blew my mind is the refreshing creativity of the story. Whenever I thought I had it figured out, a new door opened and spilled out twists that changed my vision about the characters and what was going on with them.

What makes it special? The unique blend of past society, otherworldly elements, the mysteries and conspiracies that keep evolving, the wondrous horrors that people are willing to uphold, the sorrows and hopes every character harbours in the most relatable way.

My favourite part was the magical side of this society that has outlawed a somewhat rustic but romantic tradition, while at the same time is capable of using an ancient source of magic to enslave and corrupt. Also, I really enjoyed the period atmosphere along with the amazing characters.

In short, I'd like to say how much I enjoyed the originality and the terrifying scope of the plot. The characters are perfect to tell the story and I'd recommend it to all lovers of earthly magic who are looking for an urban, mystic, dark twist. Expect the unexpected!


 ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.



GIVEAWAY TIME
US ONLY


¿Qué os ha parecido la novela de hoy? Una elección interesante de época, ¿verdad?

Babel bailando en un club nocturno con el pelo corto.

6 comentarios:

Kayima Bianchi dijo...

Uf, hacía demasiado que no me pasaba por aquí y los blogs literarios porque apenas tenía tiempo para mis libros T^T

Wow, años 20, cosas misteriosas/magia...Tiene una pinta muy pero que muy interesante OWO! Me lo apunto, si señor OWO!

Un besitooooooo

Chibiaka dijo...

OMG pero que buena pinta!!! y yo sin conocerlo!!! me lo apunto.
besos locos!!!

Aglaia Callia dijo...

Qué interesante se ve, y ¡los años 20! Lo llevo para mi lista, gracias por la recomendación :)

Un besazo y feliz inicio de semana.

SantitAh dijo...

Hola Babel!
Wow quiero!
Los años 20 tienen su magia, y si tiene suspenso y terror, lo quiero!

Que andes bien.

Shane Morgan dijo...

Thanks for participating!

Vir dijo...

Oye pues por lo que comentas sí que se ve original la historia, me ha llamado mucho la atención la verdad. Además tiene una portada taaaan bonita♥ *sí, soy muuuy superficial*

Un beso!